“If we don’t make time for our lives, our lives won’t make time for us.”
~Kris Carr, author of Crazy Sexy Kitchen

After a year of trying to take care of myself, in ways that nourish me physically, emotionally, mentally, and spiritually, I’ve come to these realizations:

  1. Self-care requires effort and commitment.
  2. I love vegetables, especially when I eat them in a delicious breakfast smoothie or juice them.  Before this year, I’d never eaten kale.  Now it’s a staple.
  3. Breakfast smoothies are now a part of my life, thanks to my Vitamix, and green drinks are soon to join the smoothies in my daily consumption.
  4. The Fitbit is a wonderful invention which has inspired to me to walk 10, 000 or more a steps a day, every day except one, since June 1.
  5. Kris Carr and Dr. Joel Fuhrman are amazing role models who have changed what I eat and how I eat it (even though I still eat too much chocolate).
  6. I love receiving physical and energetic modalities, particularly Healing Touch, reflexology, massage, facials, shiatsu, and acupuncture.  I will continue to book one (or more!) appointments every month.
  7. Setting a monthly goal is, for me, a realistic way to incorporate some self-care into my schedule.
  8. My blog is over but my self-care journey is most definitely not finished.

After a year of trying to take care of myself, I wish I had some magical advice or wise words to make it simple for you to incorporate self-care into your life.  Because self-care means many things to many people, creating your own definition is vital.  Self-care matters.  You matter.  If you don’t take care of yourself, nobody else will.

take care

 

